Courses for Architect |


Courses in Architecture field:

In India, the CoA is the body responsible for maintaining the quality of education in this field. This body is also responsible for ensuring that the best quality education is offered for future architects. CoA stands for Council of Architecture. For candidates planning to practice as professional architects, it is important that they should register themselves with CoA.

Degree course:

Bachelor of Architecture shortly called as B. Arch is the course recognized by the CoA in India. B. Arch degree from an institution recognized by CoA will help candidates to a great extent. Here is a table that shows the eligibility requirements to be met:

Name of the course

Bachelor of Architecture or B. Arch

Duration of the course

5 years

Eligibility requirement

10+2 in Science Stream with PCM or its equivalent with at least 50% of marks

Candidates with diploma in architecture after their class X are also eligible to apply to B. Arch

Entrance Test

NATA conducted by CoA, JEE conducted by IITs and institute-wise entrance tests

Course at the PG Level:

At the PG level, candidates have the option to go for M. Arch course after their B. Arch. When they do this, they have the following options as the specialisation to choose in India:

  • Digital Architecture
  • Environmental Architecture
  • Landscape Architecture
  • Interior designing

Even, after completion of the M. Arch course, candidates can choose to do their Ph. D course. This course will help them get into the research field in architecture like industrial design, housing, environmental planning, urban design, transport planning, etc.

Ask our Counsellors